SAFF Championship Final Live: IND beat Kuwait to lift win 9th title

India vs Kuwait, SAFF Championship 2023 Final Live Updates: In a nail biting thriller in the final of SAFF Championship, India beat Kuwait penalties to win record 9th title. Both teams were favorite in this championship.

After scoring 1 goal each in first half, both teams failed to score in the second half. Both teams were pretty strong on their defence.

The match entered extra time after match tied at 1-1 after 90 minutes. Kuwait got back to back corners but could not convert those into goals as Indian defence, specially Gurdeep was very resistant today.

Since the start of the match Kuwait team seemed in great form with far more steady possessions. They scored their first and only goal in the first 15 minutes. Indian team bounced back after recovering from initial setback with a sensational goal by Lallianzuala Chhangte right at the 40-minute mark.

The Sree Kanteerava Stadium was packed with spirited crowd supporting team India.

The referee was involved on a number of occasions throughout the half, especially after the first Indian goal and both sides had to make substitutions due to injuries. 

In post match interview, Indian goal keeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu said, “I think we did really well. All the credits to the boys for not giving up even after going down by a goal. Winning in penalties is about who has the luck and we had it today.”

Indian skipper Sunil Chhetri congratulated and showed his gratitude to the crowd. He added “Thank you so much. This whole tournament has been really tough. We came back from a tournament in Odissa that was also very tough. Everybody chipped in. They are not an easy side to play against. Two games in four days that has gone into extra time. I can’t express how happy I am.”

SAFF Championship Winner List

India is leading SAFF Championship winner with 9 titles including 2023.

Here is a list of all the SAFF Championship winners since the inauguration of this event in 1993:

DateHost NationChampionsRunners Up
1993PakistanIndiaSri Lanka
1995Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
2008Maldives & Sri LankaMaldivesIndia

Leave a Reply