Australia announced Squad for last 3 Ashes Tests – Who is in, Who is out?

After winning 2 consecutive tests of Ashes 2023 by narrow margins in nail biting competitions, Australia has announced its squad for remaining 3 test matches of the series.

Todd Murphy has been named as the replacement of Nathan Lyon, as the later spinner is suffering from calf tear while fielding on day 2 of recently concluded test match.

The legendary 36-year-old off-spinner was playing in his 100th consecutive Test for Australia. Lyon sustained a significant calf tear while fielding on the second day of the second Test and had been out of field for remaining days of the match. He could barely walk on to the field to contribute 15 runs before getting out.

Australia won the second match by 43 runs to secure a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Todd made his international Test debut against India in Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023. He had impressive debut where he took 14 wickets in 4 matches at an impressive average of 25.20.

Australia squad for remaining 3 Ashes Tests

Pat CumminsCaptain
Scott BolandPacer
Alex CareyWicketkeeper
Cameron GreenAll-rounder
Marcus HarrisBatsman
Josh HazlewoodPacer
Travis HeadBatsman
Usman KhawajaBatsman
Marnus LabuschagneBatsman
Mitch MarshAll-rounder
Todd MurphySpinner
Michael NeserBowler
Jimmy PeirsonWicketkeeper
Steve SmithVice Captain
Mitchell StarcPacer
David WarnerBatsman

Murphy’s call was shocker as fans were expecting another full time spinner. However, Australian team management has tried to maintain the balance with bat and ball.

“His stock ball is good enough in international cricket. We have seen that in India in arguably the hardest place to bowl spin,” Lyon said.

“If they do come at him, it provides Todd with a decent challenge. But a chance to leave his footmarks here in England. It is a big Ashes series, he is excited by the opportunity” Lyon added.

Matthew Renshaw has also been dropped from the list, but he will be available in England as a reserved player for rest of the series.

Ashes 2023 Venue

The first and second test match of the prestigious Ashes 2023 was played in Esgbaston and Lord’s stadium.

While the remaining 3 test match of the series will be played on Headingley, Old Trafford and the Oval pitches respectively.

Australia has won all the Ashes series since 2019.

Leave a Reply